
STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DIVISION OF TAXATION

CIGARETTE TAX

DISTRIBUTOR / WHOLESALER

LICENSE APPLICATION

PACKET

CWD-P

(1-11)



IMPORTANT NOTICE

TO CIGARETTE DISTRIBUTORS,

WHOLESALERS AND RETAIL DEALERS

This notice is a reminder that offering, giving or soliciting a price rebate or a concession of any

kind in connection with the sale of cigarettes is a violation of New Jersey law.  The violator will

be considered a Disorderly Person, subject to a fine up to $1,000 and six months in jail for each

individual violation.  (N.J.S.A 56:7-20).

Civil penalties relative to suspension or revocation of any licenses issued under the “Cigarette Tax

Act” may occur after notification of any violation and a hearing by the Director.  Mandatory sus-

pensions may be imposed as follows (N.J.S.A. 56-7-33):

• A minimum suspension may be imposed for not less than 10 or more than 20 consec-

utive business days for first offenders.

• Subsequent or plural offenders may have their licenses suspended for not less than 30

consecutive business days.

• Third offenders may have their licenses revoked.

It is the policy of the Division’s Office of Criminal Investigations to pursue this type of violation

in a vigorous manner.

Your cooperation in this matter is greatly appreciated.



STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

DIVISION OF TAXATION

CIGARETTE TAX
PO Box 187

Trenton, New Jersey 08695-0187

APPLICATION FOR DISTRIBUTOR’S OR
WHOLESALE DEALER’S LICENSE

(Please read application and instructions thoroughly before completing)

OFFICE USE ONLY

License Number ______________________

Issued ______________________________

Expires March 31, 2012________________

Approved:___________________________

CWD-1
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2011

In compliance with Chapter 65, P.L. 1948, as amended, application is hereby made by the undersigned for a license to operate in the

State of New Jersey as a Cigarette Distributor or Wholesale Dealer for the year ending March 31, 2012.

Fee of $350 is herewith enclosed for a Distributor’s License, or $250 for a Wholesale Dealer’s License.

� Distributor’s License � Wholesale  Dealer’s License

Date__________________________ 20_______

Business Name: _____________________________________________________ Fid #___________________________________

Trade Name __________________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Address:______________________________________________________________________________________________
STREET NUMBER CITY COUNTY STATE ZIP CODE

Mailing Address:_______________________________________________________________________________________________
STREET NUMBER CITY COUNTY STATE ZIP CODE

� Individual � Partnership � Corporation � Other (indicate type)____________________________

Business Telephone Number:  (____)______________________  E-Mail Address  __________________________________________

1. Is this application for renewal of license?  . . . . . . . . .� Yes � No

If your answer is “no”, please indicate whether:

a. Just starting in the cigarette business?  . . . . . . . . .� Yes � No

b. Recently purchased a cigarette business?  . . . . . .� Yes � No

If “yes”, please indicate the name and address of the former owner._______________________________________________
NAME

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
CITY STATE ZIP CODE

The sale was finalized on:____________________________________________________________________________________

2. Sales will be: � to Retailers � to Wholesalers � to Vending Machines

3. List number of Retailers ________ Wholesalers ________ Vending Machines ________ Vending Machine Operators ________

4. Do you purchase or sell other than New Jersey stamped cigarettes?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .� Yes � No

If so, list names of states: ____________________________________________________________________________________

5. Do you sell New Jersey stamped cigarettes to accounts outside New Jersey?  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .� Yes � No

6. List addresses of all warehouses or storage facilities where New Jersey stamped cigarettes handled by you are stored.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

7. List the names and addresses of any other cigarette business in which the applicant or any of the principals of the applicant have an

interest (in or outside of New Jersey)

Name of Principal Business Name & Address State License No.

_________________________________ ___________________________________ ______________________

_________________________________ ___________________________________ ______________________

_________________________________ ___________________________________ ______________________

_________________________________ ___________________________________ ______________________



SPECIFICS RELATING TO INDIVIDUAL PRINCIPALS TO BE NOTED BELOW

IF ANY SPACES PROVIDED FOR ANSWERS ARE FOUND INADEQUATE, ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET(S)
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8. Name of owner(s), individuals having an interest, part-

ners, joint ventures, officers and directors

Print

Signature

Print

Signature

Print

Signature

TITLE and SOCIAL

SECURITY NUMBER
DATE OF BIRTH

HOME ADDRESS
Street, City, State, Zip Code

9. Names and addresses of stockholders (list percentage of stock owned) with more than 5% interest __________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

10. Names and addresses of employees directly involved in the purchase or sale of cigarettes receiving in excess of $30,000 per annum

compensation other than those persons listed under items No. 9 and 10 ________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

11. Names and addresses of persons having contracts, (including sales contracts and compensation arrangements) loans, mortgages,

pledges of securities with the applicant other than bona fide lending institutions or those licensed under the Casino Control Act.  

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

12. To the best of your knowledge, have any of the aforementioned (include entity) been convicted, or are there charges pending relating

to any offense in any jurisdiction which would be at the time of conviction a crime involving moral turpitude?   �Yes     � No

If the foregoing answer is YES, furnish details as to the date, place, court, offense, sentence, etc., on a separate sheet.

13. Name of company where you purchase cigarettes__________________________________________________________________

Applicant agrees to comply with the New Jersey Cigarette Tax and Unfair Cigarette Sales Acts and the rules and regulations promulgated

thereunder.

NOTE: Distributors and wholesale dealers are required to secure a separate license for each place of business, whether established or temporary, from

which cigarettes are sold or intended to be sold.  A separate application for each place of business must be tendered.

Any changes that occur in this application after submission, or after a license has been issued, must be brought to the attention of the Division

of Taxation within ten (10) days after the change(s) has occurred.  Failure to do so may be cause for rejection, suspension or revocation of license.

The Division of Taxation reserves the right before issuing a Distributor’s License or Wholesale Dealer’s License to conduct a thorough investi-

gation of the activities of the applicant and its principals.  Any misrepresentation found in this application shall be cause for rejection or revo-

cation of the license.

I certify on behalf of the applicant, and under penalty of perjury, that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my

knowledge and belief.

Sworn to before me this ____________________________________

___________________ Day of ______________________________ ___________________________________________________________
APPLICANT

20______ at _____________________________________________ ___________________________________________________________
AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE

________________________________________________________ ___________________________________________________________
NOTARY PUBLIC TITLE



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING NEW OR RENEWAL

CIGARETTE DISTRIBUTOR OR WHOLESALER LICENSE APPLICATIONS

CWD
(Instr. 1/11)

The completed application, Form CRD-3, is required to be submitted in the original and with one copy by all persons

operating 9 or more outlets.

The license period for all cigarette licenses begins on April 1st and expires on March 31st. of the following year.  Fees

for licenses are not prorated.  The application forms and instructions should be thoroughly reviewed to avoid errors or omis-

sions.  Applications not properly completed will be returned.

DISTRIBUTOR LICENSE

New Applications.  Eligibility for a Distributor’s license is based on the fact that the applicant will be a direct buyer

of cigarettes from a manufacturer.  A letter from the manufacturer(s) confirming this must be submitted with the application

(Form CWD-1), which must be submitted in the original and one copy.  A Performance Bond, Form CD-3, in the amount of

$6,000 is required.  The bond form must be prepared under the same name as appears on the application and must be nego-

tiated by a surety company authorized to do business in New Jersey.  Form CD-5 must be completed and submitted by all

non-resident applicants.  When all completed forms are received, a visit may be made to your business location by an audi-

tor to establish eligibility.

Renewal Applications.  License application Form CWD-1 must be completed and submitted with the original and one

copy.  A Bond Certification Certificate may be filed in lieu of a new bond.  Renewal applications should be submitted on or

before March 1st.

WHOLESALER DEALER LICENSE

New Applications. Eligibility is based upon the fact that the applicant sells or intends to sell cigarettes to licensed

retail dealers or its own retail outlets.  All applicants are required to complete the application form, CWD-1 and submit the

original and one copy.  Non-resident applicants are required to file a $2,000 Performance Bond, Form CD-3 negotiated

through a surety company authorized to do business in New Jersey.  It is important that the name of the applicant on the bond

corresponds exactly with the name of the applicant on the license application.  Form CD-5 must also be completed by non-

resident applicants.  When all completed forms are received, a visit may be made to your business location by an investiga-

tor to establish eligibility.

Renewal Applications. Renewal applications, Form CWD-1, submitted in the original and one copy, should be filed

on or before March 1st.

A Bond Continuation Certificate may be filed in lieu of a new bond by those licensees required to post a performance

bond.

Form NCOE-1 is required to be filed before any change in ownership or corporate status is undertaken.

FINGERPRINTS (Ref. N.J.S.A. 54:40-A-4, as amended)

The following individuals related to distributors, wholesale dealers, retail dealers operating more than five cigarette

vending machines, and retail dealers who sell cigarettes at retail at more than five premises shall submit with application for

a license, fingerprints, which shall be processed through the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the New Jersey State Police,

and such other information as the Director may require:

(1) Individuals having any interest whatsoever in a proprietorship or company.

(2) Partners in a partnership, regardless of percentage.

(3) Joint venturers in a joint venture.

(4) Officers, directors, and all stockbrokers holding directly or indirectly a beneficial interest in more than 5% of the

outstanding shares of a corporation.

(5) Employees receiving in excess of $30,000 per annum compensation whether as salary, commission, bonus or oth-

erwise and persons who, in the judgment of the Director, are employed in a supervisory capacity or have the power

to make or substantially affect discretionary business judgments of the applicant entity withe regard to the ciga-

rette business.

(6) Other persons whom the Director establishes have the ability ot control the applicant entity through any means

including but not limited to contracts, loans, mortages or pledges of securities where such control is inimical to

the policies of Cigarette Tax Act.



Individuals licensed pursuant to the Casino Control Act shall only be required to produce evidence of such licensure

in satisfaction of the foregoing.

The requirement to submit fingerprints also does not apply to retail grocery stores and supermarkets primarily engaged

in the self-service sale of foods and household supplies for off-premises consumption or to restaurants, hotels and motels oper-

ated by national corporations with such remises in six or more states and primarily engaged in the sale of foods for retail con-

sumption or in the rental of rooms for lodging.

The Director shall not issue any license where he has reasonable cause to believe that anyone required to submit infor-

mation under the cigarette Tax Act has willfully withheld information requested of him for the purpose of determining the eli-

gibility of the applicant to receive a license, or where the Director has reasonable cause to believe that the information sub-

mitted in the application is false and misleading and is not made in good faith.

The Director shall not issue any license where he has reasonable cause to believe that anyone required to be licensed

or anyone required to submit information, has been convicted of an offense in any jurisdiction which would be at the time of

conviction a crime involving moral turpitude.

The Director may suspend or revoked a license after it has been issued, if upon information received by the Director

it is established that other persons may exercise control inimical to the Cigarette Tax Act.

Upon receipt of your completed application, fingerprint cards for those required to submit fingerprints will be mailed

to you under separate cover.  Your license will be issued as soon as all required documentation is submitted, provided that

nothing is uncovered to disqualify licensure later on (Ref. N.J.S.A. 54:40A-5).

Persons who have acceptable fingerprints on file with the Division of Taxation are not required to submit them

a second time.

If you have any questions you can direct them to (609) 633-9000.

Completed license applications, required forms, bonds and checks must be submitted to the Division of Taxation,

Cigarette Tax Group, PO Box 187, Trenton, NJ  08695-0187.  

NOTE:  Application will not be accepted without the required performance bond.



_______________________________________________________, a corporation, incorporated and existing under the Laws of the
(Name of Corporation)

State of ________________________________________; (or) _______________________________________________________
(Name of Partner)

and ______________________________________________, a co-partnership trading as __________________________________
(Name of Partner)

(or) ____________________________________________________________, an individual; having applied to the Director,

Division of Taxation, Department of the Treasury, of the State of New Jersey, to be licensed in compliance with Chapter 65, P.L. 1948,

as amended, does hereby make, constitute and appoint the Secretary of State of the State of New Jersey as his lawful attorney-in-fact

upon whom any original process in any action of legal preceeding may be served and does hereby agree that any original process

against him so served, shall be of the same force and effect as if served on him within this State, and that the authority so to do shall

continue in force irrevocably, so long as the applicant shall remain liable for any taxes, interest or penalty under the “Cigarette Tax

Act”, and does hereby set forth the following:

(a) The name of this applicant is ________________________________________________________________________

(b) Address _________________________________________________________________________________________

(c) The names and addresses of its officers on the date of filing this statement with the Secretary of State of New Jersey are:

Pres. ____________________________________ Address__________________________________________

Vice-Pres.________________________________ Address__________________________________________

Secy.____________________________________ Address__________________________________________

Treas.____________________________________ Address__________________________________________

(d) The address of the office of the applicant under the above Act where the Secretary of State of New Jersey shall forward

any Service of Process relating to any matter or issue arising under the above mentioned Act is:

Sealed with our seals and dated this ________________________day of________________________, A.D., 20_____

Signed, Sealed and Delivered

in the presence of:

CORPORATE SEAL
IF A CORPORATION

_________________________________________(L.S.)

_________________________________________President

_________________________________________Secretary

_____________________________________________
(Witness)

CD-5
(1-11, R-6)

APPOINTMENT OF SECRETARY OF STATE FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS
(Non-resident applicants only)



STATE OF NEW JERSEY

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

DIVISION OF TAXATION

CIGARETTE TAX
PO Box 187

Trenton, New Jersey 08695-0187

NCOE-1

(1-11, R-6)

DATE: __________________________________

NOTICE OF CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP ENTITY

All licensed Distributors and Wholesalers are required to file this form prior to a change of ownership entity.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that on_________________________________ day of _____________________________19_____

the_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
(NAME LICENSE ISSUED)

________________________________________________________, _________________________________________________

a licensed cigarette ________________________________________________________________ of the State of New Jersey and 

the holder of license(s) number(s) ______________________________________________________________________________

Credit Bond Number _________________________________, Performance Bond Number ________________________________

will change ownership from:

___________________________________________________ to _____________________________________________________
(INDIVIDUAL, PARTNERSHIP, CORPORATION OR OTHERWISE)

EFFECTIVE ___________________________________________________________________ the new ownership entity will be 

known as: _________________________________________________________________________________________________

NAME ____________________________________________________________________________________________________

ADDRESS _________________________________________________________________________________________________

Specify name(s) of new owner(s),

partner(s) or corporate officers:
________________________________________________

________________________________________________

________________________________________________

_________________________________________________
COMMENTS:

________________________________________________
SIGNATURE OF OWNER, PARTNER OR OFFICER



BOND NO. ________________________________

PERFORMANCE BOND

IN ACCORDANCE WITH CHAPTER 65, P.L. 1948, AS AMENDED

KNOWN ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, That _____________________________________________________
(Complete and exact name)

__________________________________________________ of _______________________________________________ County
(Individual, Partnership or Corporation)

of ____________________________________________ and State of ___________________________________, as principal, and 

_________________________________________________________________ Company, having its principal place of business at

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

in the County of, _______________________________________________ in the State of _________________________________

and duly authorized to engage in business as a surety company in the State of New Jersey, as surety, are held and firmly bound unto

the State of New Jersey in the sum of ($__________________________________________________, lawful money of the 

United States, for payment of which will and truly be made, we hereby bind ourselves, and each of us, our, and each of our heirs,

executors, administrators, successors and assigns, firmly by these present.

The condition of this obligation is such that whereas the above bounden principal has applied for a license to engage in

the business of distributing cigarettes in the State of New Jersey as provided by law.

NOW THEREFORE, if the said principal, as a licensee, shall properly perform all of his duties and discharge all of his

liabilities under the provisions of chapter 65, P.I. 1948, as amended, and shall comply with all of the provisions of the said law, and

with such rules and regulations as may be promulgated by the Director of the Division of Taxation, then this obligation shall be void;

otherwise to remain in full force and effect.

The term of this bond shall be from ________________________, 20_____, through March 31, 20_____.

Signed, sealed and delivered in presence of:

______________________________________________________________________
(Corporate Seal)

______________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________
(If a corporation, signature by the secretary, (Complete and exact name of Principal as at the top of this Bond and

otherwise by any witness) signature of owner, partner or corporate president or vice-president)

_________________________________________________ ________________________________________________
(As To Surety) (Name of Surety Co. and Authorized Signature)

NOTE: $6,000 Bond is required for all distributors.
$2,000 Bond is required for non-resident wholesalers.
BOND MUST ACCOMPANY APPLICATION.

CD-3
(1-11, R-7) (Distributors and Non-resident Wholesale Dealers only)
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