

## **State of New Jersey**

Department of the Treasury

For Immediate Release: April 26, 2007

For Information Contact: Tom Vincz (609) 633-6565

## 2006 Homestead Property Tax Rebate Applications to Be Mailed to Homeowners

TRENTON – State Treasurer Bradley Abelow announced today that the New Jersey Division of Taxation will begin mailing the 2006 homestead rebate applications this week to approximately 500,000 senior citizen and disabled homeowners.

The applications are being mailed in two groups. Senior and disabled homeowners in Atlantic, Camden, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Salem, Somerset, and Sussex counties can expect to begin receiving their applications this weekend. Those in Bergen, Burlington, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic, Union, and Warren can expect to begin seeing their applications by the first weekend in May.

Under the Homestead Property Tax Credit/Rebate legislation signed by Governor Corzine earlier this month (4/3/07), to be implemented as part of the FY 2008 budget, senior and disabled homeowners who meet the following eligibility criteria will have until June 1, 2007, to file their applications for the 2006 rebate:

- Own and occupy a home in New Jersey that was their principal residence on October 1, 2006;
- Have gross income for 2006 of \$250,000 or less;
- The home must be subject to local property taxes, and 2006 property taxes must have been paid.

Rebates for senior and disabled homeowners, which will be issued as checks this year, are expected to be mailed on or about July 31, 2007.

"The landmark property tax legislation signed into law by Governor Corzine will provide significant relief to overburdened property taxpayers in New Jersey," Treasurer Abelow said.

The new Homestead Property Tax Credit/Rebate Program replaces the FAIR Rebate Program, which had superseded the NJ SAVER Rebate Program in 2004. Under the new program, benefits will be based on a homeowner's New Jersey gross income and the amount of property taxes paid on their principal residence. Homeowners will receive a percentage of the first \$10,000 of their property taxes: 20% for income of \$100,000 or less, 15% for income between \$100,001 and \$150,000, and 10% for income between \$150,001 and \$250,000. Recipients of the senior/disabled homeowner rebate last year will receive the same amount under the new program this year, or an amount determined by the 10%, 15% or 20% formula – whichever provides a greater benefit.

Applications for non-senior homeowners are expected to be mailed in July.

Benefits under the new Homestead Property Tax Credit/Rebate Program are in addition to the State's other property tax relief programs such as the Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement), the property tax deductions for senior citizens and veterans, and the property tax deduction/credit on the State income tax return. Residents who qualify can still apply for and receive benefits under those programs.

With very few exceptions, the homeowner rebate applications must be filed by phone or internet. Homeowners are urged to complete the worksheet in their rebate application packet before attempting to file.

By following the instructions in the application packet and checking all their information before they file, homeowners can ensure fast, easy and accurate filing. The homeowner rebate automated telephone filing system (1-877-658-2972) and Internet filing application on the Division of Taxation Web site (www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/) will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week during the filing period.

For additional information about the homestead rebate program call 1-888-238-1233 or visit the Division of Taxation Web site at <a href="https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation">www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation</a>.