New Jersey Division of Investment

Members of the State Investment Council

(Updated March 24, 2021)

Member Appointed by

Theodore R. Aronson Governor

Wasseem Boraie Governor

Thomas Bruno Public Employees' Retirement System

Leonard Carr Governor

Michael Cleary Governor, from AFL-CIO nominees (police/fire union representative)

Vaughn Crowe Governor

Andrew Michael Greaney State Troopers Fraternal Association

James E. Hanson, II Governor

Adam Liebtag, Vice-Chair Governor , from AFL-CIO nominees

Timothy McGuckin Governor , from NJEA nominees

Samir Pandiri Governor

Deepak Raj, Chair Governor

Eric E. Richard Governor, from nominees submitted jointly by the President of the

Senate and Speaker of the Assembly

Jerome St. John Retired Judges Association of New Jersey

Edward Yarusinsky Teachers' Pension and Annuity Fund

VACANT Governor

Council Membership:

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:18A-83, the State Investment Council is comprised of sixteen (16) members.

Nine members are appointed by the Governor for five year terms, and are drawn traditionally from the corporate investment community. Of those nine appointments, eight are made with the advice and consent of the State Senate. One appointment is made from nominees submitted jointly by the President of the Senate and Speaker of the Assembly. The statute requires that at least seven of the nine gubernatorial appointments shall be qualified by training and experience in the direct management, analysis, supervision or investments of assets, which training and experience shall have been acquired through academic training and/or actual employment in those fields.

Four members are appointed by the Governor from nominees submitted by various employee organizations. Two of the four members are appointed for five year terms from nominees submitted by the New Jersey State AFL-CIO. One of the four members is appointed for a three year term from nominees submitted by the New Jersey Education Association (NJEA). The fourth member is appointed by the Governor for a three year term from nominees submitted by the State Troopers Fraternal Association. The statute requires that these four appointments shall be qualified by training, experience or long-term interest in the direct management, analysis, supervision or investments of assets and this training, experience or interest shall be supplemented by academic training in the fields of economics, business, law, financial or actuarial science or by actual employment in those fields.

Two members, representing the Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS), and the Teachers' Pension and Annuity Fund (TPAF), are designated from members of the respective pension system's board of trustees and serve three year terms.

One member is designated by the Chief Justice of the New Jersey Supreme Court from members of the Retired Judges Association of New Jersey and serves a three year term.

All members serve until reappointed or a successor is named and has qualified.